papermache passion

papermache

Working with papier-mâché can take you anywhere you want to go! The picture above is of a bedside lamp I made for my own use.
(I have to say the rules concerning electrical devices require licences if they are to be sold to the public.)
That aside, the doing of papier-mâché is a cheap and totally absorbing hobby, and over the years I’ve made many things, big and small, for indoors and out.

There is a subtle little gesture here too, for I can take the daily papers with the nasty news in them, and bury the horror forever in something joyous to look at or use. If I can’t stop the mayhem, I can sure alter it!

The doing of art is often about that very point.

Leave a Reply

